Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar: Liberating Service Learning

May 15 @ 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Webinar: Liberating Service Learning

WEBINAR: Liberating Service Learning

May 15th 2017 1:00pm
Registration Deadline: May 12th, 2017
Fee:
  • Compact Members – Free
  • Non-Compact Members – $75

Register Now

Facilitator: Randy R. Stoecker, University of Wisconsin – Madison

Description: “Institutionalized service learning,” has its priorities reversed. It starts by focusing on student learning, then on “service,” then on “community” and only then on any kind of social change. In “liberating service learning” I reverse that prioritization to start with change, then community, then “service” and finally learning, and also develop new philosophical foundations and practices for each concept. This webinar will show the problems with the institutionalized service learning and the potential of liberating service learning.

Time: This one hour and 15 minute webinar will be held at 12 pm Pacific, 1 pm Mountain, 2 pm Central and 3 pm Eastern time.

Cost: This webinar is *FREE for all Compact Members and costs $75 for non-Compact Members.

(*Compact Members please note: After you register for the webinar, you will be taken to a page requesting payment. You do not need to go any further in the registration process as your participation is free, so just close the window and your registration is confirmed.)

Details

Date:
May 15
Time:
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new with Connecticut Campus Compact